Tuesday, 14 July, 2015

8.30 - 11.00pm
£8 on the door

Leytonstone Festival All Star Rhythm & Blues Band

Tonight's Festival band, specially formed for this gig, should really raise the roof. Winston Rollins, Chris Storr, Dave Ital and bandleader Derek Nash, are all members of Jools Holland's famed Rhythm & Blues Orchestra. Pete Whittaker is a leading exponent of the hammond organ, Geoff Gascoyne the go-to bass player and Clive Fenner the hugely experienced host and resident drummer of the long established East Side Jazz Club in Leytonstone.
Derek Nash is a vibrant and charismatic performer on all four saxes from soprano to baritone. Derek is of course best known as leader and arranger, since its inception 30 years ago, of the award winning ensemble 'Sax Appeal'. His playing credits include David Sanborn, Mavis Staples, Eric Clapton, Tom Jones, Jools Holland and the late Spike Robinson with whom he recorded an award winning CD 'Young Lions Old Tigers'. Derek is also a respected recording engineer. He was awarded a gold disc for his work on 'Pointless Nostalgic' by Jamie Cullum and has recorded for Bobby Wellins, Dave O'Higgins, Martin Drew, Geoff Gascoyne, Georgie Fame and George Melly.